My Highest Earning Article Got Me The Most Hate

Saniya Aamir
3 min readJan 21, 2024

5 years ago, as I started writing and experimenting with integrating recent research into my articles, I published one of my most hated articles to date — Can Skipping Breakfast Actually Kill You?

Granted, it was a bold heading. And offending a lot of those who sincerely believe in intermittent fasting.

After working hours on the article, I decided to submit it to one of Medium’s biggest publications: The Startup. So when my article was accepted, I felt like I had finally made it on Medium.

So naturally, once the article was published I started to get claps and views. I remember refreshing the article every minute until I finally got my first comment. It was a positive comment too!

But the second one I got, wasn't so positive. I let it go...

Then another. Then another. I let it go again and slept.

The next morning, I woke up to hundreds of notifications, and seeing all the negativity in my article made my heart sink.

I got comments like:

“Totally useless article and disinformation. Don’s sarcasm above was to the point.”

“This is completely flawed. No causation between skipping breakfast and a higher death rate; you might as well claim pirates prevent global

--

--

Saniya Aamir

Just a dental professional trying to make dental care more accessible… one article at a time